CoCounsel

Casetext/Thomson Reuters · Productivity · US · www.thomsonreuters.com/en/products/cocounsel

Last verified 2026-09-16
Entry services/cocounsel.yaml
Training on your data (default tier)
Not stated
Retention
Retention calculated from purpose, regulatory timelines, legal holds and contract
Data residency
Global organisation; data may be stored and accessed from multiple countries including the United States

Vendor data-handling terms

Training on your data (default tier)
Not stated

The corporate privacy statement makes no product-level statement on training with legal documents; CoCounsel's data terms sit in the customer agreement and product documentation.

not stated by vendor
Retention
Retention calculated from purpose, regulatory timelines, legal holds and contract
We calculate the retention period based upon the time the personal information is needed to fulfill the purposes described in this Privacy Statement; meet the timelines required or recommended by regulators, professional bodies, or associations; comply with applicable laws, legal holds, and other legal obligations, including contractual obligations; and comply with your requests.
checked 2026-09-16
Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement
Data residency
Global organisation; data may be stored and accessed from multiple countries including the United States
As described above, we are a global organization, so your personal information may be transferred outside of your home country and may be stored in and accessed from multiple countries, including the United States.
checked 2026-09-16
Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement

Domains and endpoints

observed means seen in Unseen deployments; vendor-documented means listed by the vendor. Vendors do not publish complete lists.

HostRoleSource
casetext.comappobserved
cocounsel.comappobserved
api.cocounsel.aiapiobserved
cocounsel.aiappobserved

Assessment

Platform: medium

Reasoning: Thomson Reuters' legal AI assistant, formerly Casetext. Only the corporate privacy statement is public; training use for uploaded legal documents is set out in the customer agreement, not the statement.

Flags: Legal documents · Training terms in customer agreement · Assessed 2026-09-16. The assessment is Unseen's; the terms above are the vendor's.

Changelog

  • 2026-09-16Documented. Terms verified against the Thomson Reuters Privacy Statement where stated.
  • 2026-09-15Listed from the Unseen catalogue with observed domains.

Corrections

Pull request on GitHub, or the form below. Changes are reviewed and recorded in the changelog.

Edit on GitHub