Cline

Cline · Coding agent · US · cline.bot

Last verified 2026-09-16
Entry services/cline.yaml
Training on your data (default tier)
Depends on the model provider the user selects; providers may train unless the user opts out with them
Retention
Not stated for code or prompts; payment data not retained
Data residency
Not stated

Vendor data-handling terms

Training on your data (default tier)
Depends on the model provider the user selects; providers may train unless the user opts out with them

Cline is a bring-your-own-model coding agent; the training question is answered by whichever provider key the developer configures, not by Cline.

Some AI model providers may use content for training unless you have explicitly opted out where such an option is offered by that AI model provider.
checked 2026-09-16
Cline Privacy Notice
Retention
Not stated for code or prompts; payment data not retained

The privacy notice covers account, site, and support data. It does not state a retention period for code or prompts, which pass through to the selected model provider.

not stated by vendor
Data residency
Not stated

No storage location is named. Code and prompts are sent to the developer's chosen model provider under that provider's terms.

not stated by vendor

Domains and endpoints

observed means seen in Unseen deployments; vendor-documented means listed by the vendor. Vendors do not publish complete lists.

HostRoleSource
cline.botappobserved

Assessment

All use: medium

Reasoning: An open-source coding agent that runs in the editor with the developer's own model keys and, with MCP servers attached, the developer's tool credentials. Cline itself holds little; the exposure is the provider behind the key and everything the agent can reach. The notice is honest that provider training depends on the provider's opt-out, which is the right thing for a deployer to check.

Flags: Provider-dependent training terms · Agent tool access (MCP servers run with the developer's credentials) · Assessed 2026-09-16. The assessment is Unseen's; the terms above are the vendor's.

Changelog

  • 2026-09-16Documented. Provider-training statement verified against the Cline privacy notice; retention and storage are not stated for code.
  • 2026-09-15Listed from the Unseen catalogue with observed domains.

Corrections

Pull request on GitHub, or the form below. Changes are reviewed and recorded in the changelog.

Edit on GitHub